Up to $25,000.For Fort Worth buyers.
Fort Worth's HAP puts up to $25,000 toward the down payment and closing costs for first-time buyers. This page explains the price caps and the line at $15,000 that doubles how long the home has to stay affordable.
Our comparative assessment: cash saved 40%, ease 25%, speed 15%, fewer strings 20%. Full rankings
The City of Fort Worth HAP provides up to $25,000 for down payment and closing costs as a deferred loan. Buyers must be first-time buyers (no ownership in 3 years) with household income at or below 80% AMI, which is $88,250 for a 4-person household. Price caps are $309,000 for existing homes and $329,000 for new construction (guidelines revised April 15, 2026). Assistance of $14,999 or less carries a 5-year affordability period, and $15,000 to $25,000 carries 10 years.
Who qualifies.
- First-time buyer: no home ownership in the past 3 years
- Household income at or below 80% AMI ($88,250 for 4 people)
- 8-hour homebuyer class from a HUD-certified agency
- Purchase price at or below $309,000 (existing) or $329,000 (new construction)
How it works.
Homebuyer class
The buyer completes an 8-hour class with a HUD-certified agency.
Funding status check
The city page does not state current funding status, so availability is confirmed with the city before counting on it.
Lender pre-approval
The first mortgage pre-approval sets the price range under the program caps.
Contract under the cap
The price must be $309,000 or less for an existing home, or $329,000 or less for new construction.
Closing
The assistance closes as a deferred loan, with a 5 or 10-year affordability period depending on the amount.
Example: a $300,000 existing home
Example only. $309,000 minus $300,000 leaves $9,000 of room under the existing-home cap. The full $25,000 is a maximum, not a guarantee, and it would carry a 10-year affordability period. Caps per guidelines revised April 15, 2026. Rates, taxes, insurance and closing costs vary.
The packet includes the City of Fort Worth HAP page, the class requirement, the price caps and a document checklist.
What works
- Up to $25,000 for down payment and closing costs
- Deferred loan, not a monthly payment
- Higher cap for new construction ($329,000)
- Smaller amounts carry only a 5-year affordability period
What it costs you
- First-time buyers only
- Price caps leave a narrow inventory
- The city page does not state current funding status
- $15,000 or more means a 10-year affordability period
The part nobody explains.
The $15,000 line matters. At $14,999 or less the affordability period is 5 years; at $15,000 and up it is 10 years. A buyer who expects to move within 10 years has a reason to weigh a smaller amount.
New construction gets a $20,000 higher price cap than existing homes ($329,000 vs $309,000).
Fort Worth's 80% AMI figure for 4 people ($88,250) is lower than Dallas DHAP's ($96,900), because each program uses its own published limits.
The 8-hour class with a HUD-certified agency is a required step that does not depend on having a house under contract, so it can be finished before the search starts.
Get the packet.
The official links are not on this page on purpose. They come in one email, organized, with what to do with each one and in what order.
- The packet includes the City of Fort Worth HAP page, the class requirement, the price caps and a document checklist.
- Every official link for this program, plus the links for every guide you explored here
- A match with a Texava-vetted lender who closes this program
- A direct reply from Albert in English or Spanish
Where should I send it?
Your packet is on its way.
Every guide you explore before you leave gets added to the next packet. Keep reading below.
Programs stack.
Side by side.
The Texava Score weighs what matters to a buyer: cash saved 40%, ease to qualify 25%, speed and paperwork 15%, fewer strings 20%.
Asked most.
How much is Fort Worth HAP?+
Up to $25,000 for down payment and closing costs.
What is the income limit?+
80% of area median income, which is $88,250 for a 4-person household.
What are the price limits?+
$309,000 for existing homes and $329,000 for new construction, per guidelines revised April 15, 2026.
Is the program funded right now?+
The city page does not state current funding status as of October 11, 2026, so availability is confirmed directly with the city.
What happens if I sell early?+
The assistance is a deferred loan with a 5-year affordability period for $14,999 or less and 10 years for $15,000 to $25,000. The city's terms set what is owed when a home sells within that period.
The value compounds.
Up to $60,000 at 0%
Read nextHomes for Texas HeroesUp to 5% of the loan for Texas heroes